Long range varminting rifle

Hi All,

I've been lurking in the background for a while now, what a great forum this is!

I've been shooting for many, many years, .243 for fox & small deer, .270 for larger deer.

I now want to look for a longer range varminting rifle, basically for fox, rabbit, crows etc etc.

I'm looking for help and advice with caliber mainly (possibly one of the .22 calibers?).

What accurate distances can I expect from various .22 calibers?

Can I purchase off the shelf?

Should I build myself?

Any help and advice to get me started is very much appreciated.