Lamping tips.

ejg223

In the last weeks I shot several foxes at a local free-range chicken farm. All were

shot either in the afternoon or up to last light with a success rate of almost 100% every time I go.

Yesterday eve I wanted to try something new and after butchering a deer I brought out the bones to

lay out in a field as bait. As I drove up the dirt track I saw a fox sunning himself below the chicken shed.

Took him at around 240yds with the 243 and then placed the bones in a different field. Later in the evening, well after dark

I drove out again to check with a lamp. I have never lamped the place and thought it could be interesting, also

because it's a fairly large area between two large chicken farms. To my surprise we saw only one set of

eyes way out after scanning the whole area. Have to say I'm no expert at lamping though.

Would it be better to lamp after midnight? Or what would be the best approach?

edi

Edi,

I like to be on my ground as it's getting dark. That means having all your gear ready for lift off while it's still bright. They're coming out for the hunt then and will be hungry, and more interested in calls etc. I've often found the middle of the night to be a bit of a dead zone for fox activity, don't ask me why. I've "heard" a couple of hours before it gets light again is also a good time but I like my bed far far too much to be able to offer first hand opinion on that time.

ATB,

John

Take note of where you see foxes at night, especially the ones you don't get, they'll be giving you clues as to where their paths are and how often they use them, very handy info to have for the future. I have one farm where I could shoot 80% of the foxes there sitting in one spot.

In the last weeks I shot several foxes at a local free-range chicken farm. All were

shot either in the afternoon or up to last light with a success rate of almost 100% every time I go.