new brass prep process?

Scotch_egg

Folks I have got my first batch of new brass that I will be loading. What case prep do you recommend? I Always used once fired brass, so go through the full size die. Is this needed with new brass?

Keep it simple cos I am still new to this game. This is for my 7-08 deer rifle and me .243 for some varmint hunting. No paper punching greatness..........

Whilst I am asking should I get into neck turning?

cheers

Scotch

What make of rifle are you intending to use them in ?

What make is the brass itself?

As you are new to reloading it is probable that you will be using a factory rifle rather than a custom.

The new brass should fit a factory rifle's chamber just fine as it is but just make sure it does. Even so put it through your die to just true the necks up and basically you are good to prime and load. Just check that the open ends of the necks have a chamfer on the inside AND outside, if not they will need one, there is a little hand operated tool from RCBS/redding that will do them for you easily. Learn on one caliber first and get that fully put to bed before doing the other one.

If you want to get marginally better performance from your brass then truing primer pockets and flash holes, turning the necks lightly etc will make your brass more consisitant and therefore an aid to accuracy. However learn the basic's first then you can expand into this at a later stage if you wish. Extra equipment is needed for these steps, maybe £100/£150 should about do it and most of that is in a neck turner.

If you are shooting a custom then the full brass prep is really needed IMHO to get the best out of it.

A