Which brand of these 2 cheap airgun scopes is the better?

chaz

Hi folks.

I'm after some constructive advice on buying a cheap and cheerful scope. Yes, "you get what you pay for", but I'm not expecting half moa at 100 yards... It's just for air rifle use around barns. And out to around 40 yards. But obviously accurate and consistent enough, to provide clean kills. (If I do my bit)

I don't want to spend more than £60 for a used or new model.

I've found a Nikko Stirling Mount Master 4-16x50 Adjustable Objective, and Illuminated Mil Dot Ret Scope for £60. But I have no knowledge of this make or model of scope. Are they any good? Does anyone have any knowledge or use of them??

I'm kind of thinking I should stick to what I know with "cheap" scopes. Which is the Hawke mid range, like what I already have on my .22lr. This being a used Hawke Panorama EV 3-9X50 AO IR EV. Which is a great bit of kit when it comes to fit for purpose, and has only ever lost zero once in 3 years after I knocked it.

So as asked, some constructive advice for the £60 mark would be great.

Cheers in advice.

Chaz.

Chaz, the NS Mountmaster range of scopes are excellent value for money. They will never be a Bausch and Lomb, but for airgun use they are fine. If you buy one, you won't be disappointed. If you're not sure, and you're not able to see one 'in the flesh', then go for the Hawke, but the Mountmaster is springer-proof with reasonably clear glass.

Chaz, the NS Mountmaster range of scopes are excellent value for money. They will never be a Bausch and Lomb, but for airgun use they are fine. If you buy one, you won't be disappointed. If you're not sure, and you're not able to see one 'in the flesh', then go for the Hawke, but the Mountmaster is springer-proof with reasonably clear glass.

Cheers Les. To be honest I've never even heard of them. Best I get on the Web! Thanks.

Chaz.