Annealing, case trimming and seating depth?

527vamint

OK,I have been loading for 223,308,38sp and 357 mag for around 4 years I have shot around 3000 rounds of my Homeloads .

I have some questions?.

I full length size everything and get the brass as clean as I can using a tumbler and a pea size squirt of autosol.

My 223 brass ppu was shot 6 firings,hornady 4 times and I'm on my 6th firings with my Lapua brass for the 308. All my brass is still in sami spec sizes +- a couple of tho,how important is it to trim to length. Annealing as I understand when you warm the neck upto a certain temperature the brass reverts back to its original state,causing the neck tension to be back to original state?,I have never done. Seating depth I have always kept to sami spec lengths to keep everything on an even field. Am I missing out on accuracy due to not annealing trimming to lentgh and seating closer to the rifling. I'm asking as I am wanting to tighten my groups and increase my scores in comps. I'm shooting with a 527 kevlar cz 223 /9",howa 1500 varmint 308 1/10". I know they are run of the mill but they are what I have. Ps my p14 308 1/14" and open sights is doing great of my elbows with nato amo so I think I can shoot,my loading my need some tweeks. And advice welcome.

Cheers Andy

Hi varmy , if it were me shooting in comps id do all of that . In fact im a varminter and i do it all any way , consistentsey equals accuracy . I thought all the target / comp boys were the most anal of all in there case prep ! I would anneal your brass mate and trim to length , but the other big thing is if your loading your rounds to sammi spec - ie not to your chambers COL , you could be loosing accuracy that way . Unless you have worked out your touching the lands +/- thousands for best groups ? With your chosen bullet of course . Atb