Compressed loads

njc110381

Hey guys. Now I've got past the "what bullet" problem, I've now stumbled across the next confusing part - compressed loads? How do they work? I'm using Varget inn a .223 case, under bullets that could range from 40-55grn. The load data suggests the loadings range from 25-28grns of powder, but you can only fit 25.5grns in the case! I can't find any info on how compressed loads work, so I don't want to do anything silly. Do I just put the charge in and ram the bullet down on top of it (obviously after working up from minimum load), or are things not that simple?

I quite like my hands and face (although it's not that pretty, it holds my brain in!) so I'm not too happy about doing this until I know the score. Almost all top end .223 loadings are compressed, and I'm confused!

I'm new to reloading as well but my understanding of a compressed load is basically what you have said, an amount of powder in the case that requires you to push the bullet down onto the powder to get it to fit i.e. compressing the powder.

You said that all most all the top end .223 loads are compressed, that will depend on what powder you are using, but don't get fixated with putting as much powder into the case as you can I've found that the fastest fps load on the data page ISN'T all ways the most accurate.

Somebody with 'loads' (excuse the pun) :) more experience will be along shortly to explain it a bit better than I have.

Tell me about it! My 6.5x55 likes a Speer 140grn soft point on top of 33grns of Varget. That's the most accurate I can get so far, but it's only doing about 2300fps :)

I can fire 3 shots at a target at 50 yards and it looks like only one round has hit it, but I have a feeling it's too slow for Deer :P

No need to be confused Njc. Compressed loads are common in many calibers when using what could be construed as slow burning powder for said caliber.