PES Moderators

Has anyone had any bother with a PES fullbore mod? I have had mine for a couple of years now and swap it from rifle to rifle without any problems until a few months ago. On removing and refitting on both rifles zero is always shifting (2 or 3 inches left or right). Both rifles have quality scopes on so that rules them out, all mounting screws, action screws are tight etc. I have noticed a build up of residue around the stainless steel blast baffle at the muzzle end of the rifle, causing a jagged exit hole instead of a perfectly round hole, is this the problem of my accuracy?????????

I wonder if the problem has been caused by worn bushes which in turn would cause the the moddy to be of line so to speak. Another possible cause of the build up is perhaps needing a clean, Im not saying you dont clean the moddy but just a thought. I squirt napier cleaner in mine or wd40 as Ive been told moddies love a drint especially wd. Im no expert but just my pennies worth. And slightly intregued as Ive a scout on my 25-06, or for Rogers benifit 1/4 to 6!!!

Have you got the bushes mixed up? It shouldn,t really matter, as the moderator should snug down, and align on the barrel shoulder, NOT the rear bush. Its there purely as a safety device, lest the mod comes loose a couple of turns. Sounds like it would benefit from a clean. Soak it in wd40, then use an ultrasonic tank to clean it.If you havent access to one, ring julian up at PES, i know he has one, and would probarbly do you the job, i,m sure.

hmmm

I wonder if the funny shaped baffle hole would function in the same way as a crown with damage?

I don't know the answer but what is the difference between exiting the barrel and exiting the moderator ( of any make :lol: )!

Guest varmartin

The Idea of a moderator is to slow down the gasses not the bullet , so the gasses should still be contained within the baffles long after the bullet has escaped.