Any help appreciated! OCW Load Development .223

farmer7

NaomisWeddingTargetMarlin179.jpg

Hello! I'm new round here. I would appreciate any help with some load devolopment. I have a Rem LTR .223 that i was wanting to try some Berger 73gr LTB's in. Normally have been using V-Max and fairly easily grouping between 1/2" and 3/4" regulary.

I have never tried the OCW method before so thought i'd give it a bash. Anyone with opinions on where to go from here? I'm not so sure i quite have grasped the method yet!!!

I'm using Lapua brass, Fed match primers and Varget. Loaded 3 @ 23.1 gr,3 @ 23.4gr, 3 @ 23.7gr, and so on up to 24.6gr. I was pretty disappointed with the results so far. Is 0.3gr to much of a jump in a small case? I am very confident i had no fliers. I have 8.5-25 VXIII on the rifle and was easily able to quarter the small dots. Also i was shooting from bags.

Basically i'm looking for some guidance! Anyone care to interpret the target in any way. I'm not sure if it means much! Would i try varying the 23.7 charge by 0.1 gr either way??

I would appreciate any and all comments. Thanks in advance!

You have a central POI on your 23.1 load, it then drifts to the right for 23.4 and 23.7, then comes back to the middle again. I would try 24.3 grains again as the POI is fairly stable with charge weights each side. Adjust your primers and seating depth to see if you can tighten things up.

NaomisWeddingTargetMarlin179.jpg

Hello! I'm new round here. I would appreciate any help with some load devolopment. I have a Rem LTR .223 that i was wanting to try some Berger 73gr LTB's in. Normally have been using V-Max and fairly easily grouping between 1/2" and 3/4" regulary.

I have never tried the OCW method before so thought i'd give it a bash. Anyone with opinions on where to go from here? I'm not so sure i quite have grasped the method yet!!!