Changing a .243 Howa 1500 barrel

Stirling_Tom

Hi all,

New to the forum and would like to get everyones opinion on my current dilemma.

I am currently looking into having a gunsmith replace my factory barrel, as it is starting to open up on the grouping. Have had the rifle for around 5 years now and it has had at least 3000-4000 rounds through it. Mainly used for Deer culling and Fox control with the odd target shooting session thrown in. Stupidly I left the mod on and it has corroded the crown and there is pitting in the barrel for the last inch or so.

Its going to cost me around £6-750 to have a new begara varmint type barrel fitted, blueprinted, screwcut and cerakoted. Of which I think is extremely reasonable but they think I would not be able to use my current stock ( Bell and Carlson Carbelite which is pillar and full length bedded with Devcon).

As I am new to customising my own guns, would the inletting be quite extensive to accommodate a begara varmint barrel? and would this affect the structure of a stock? The cost of a new stock for my rifle means I would not be able to afford the entire build, as a new stock + mod would push it upward of £1500+

I have thought about ordering the necessary tools i.e. barrel vice, action wrench, no go gauge and go gauge etc to change the barrel myself. But unsure as to how easy it is to be done, watched numerous videos and read directions on it and it seems pretty straight forward.

What are your experiences with changing your own barrel? And does it work out cost effective to purchase the tools i.e. how many barrels am I likely to change in my lifetime? ( Currently 24)

My other thought is to purchase a new .243 or .308 Varmint Remmy 700 SPS or the likes, so in the future when I can afford a gunsmith build I have an action that has more readily accessible parts, stocks etc than the Howa 1500.

The new rifle either way will be used primarily for Deer and Fox control with the view of venturing into long range shooting.