one for one variation

Millwall Paul

Hi,

I've just spoken to my FEO about a variation for my FAC. I want to get rid of my 22lr Anchutz 1417 and buy a 223. He has said that I don't want to do a 1 for 1 variatioon as it would mean that I can only get rid of the 22 to a dealer and would need to get a temporary permit for the 22 because of getting the 223. I'm really confused as I was going to part ex the 22 anyway, but was under the impresion that it would be like part exing a car. I.E. I go to the gun shop they take the 22 and sell me the 223 that I want and alter my licence accordingly and hence I wouldn't have both rifles in my possesion at once? As this is my first time getting rid of a rifle could someone offer me some advice please?

The FEO has also told me I really don't want to get rid of the 22 as I may need it in the future and may as well keep it and may as well just get a new rifle added to my ticket. If I do that is it possible to get my licence varied so that I have authority to dispose of the 22 and purchase a new 223? Or is that what a one for one is?

Sorry but I'm more confused now than before I spoke to my FEO.

All advice would be greatly recieved.

If you have made an arrangement with the dealer to take your .22 rimmy in part exchange take it to him and get a receipt for its purchase telling him what is going on. [ As a measure of good faith you could also pay him the difference he needs from you for the new weapon. ]

Notify the Police immediately by recorded delivery that you have sold it to him and send a copy of the receipt and then ask for a one-for-one replacement by the calibre of your choice.

At this time you will have NO firearm in your possession and will therefore be entitled to the free `one-for-one`.

If you retain the .22RF you will have to pay for a `variation` as you will be increasing the number of items held, remember also that the Police view such items as a sound moderator as another firearm.