Practical Accuracy

Cornishman

Most of my shooting these days is whacking bunnies with my 17 Ackley Hornet. The night before last I crawled up to a corner of a field set in a sunny dip and spotted lots of rabbits extending across maybe 50 yards of hedge line with some 20 yards into the field.

Now, when I started shooting rabbits the sages told me that a silenced 22LR with subs was the way to go because when you come across more than one wabbit you might be able to take one without spooking the others thereby knocking off two or possibly three. If this advice was correct then I'd stand no chance of taking more than one with the relatively barky Ackley.

As it turned out I got 19 in about 15 minutes, which was all of them. It reminded me of the 'stands' written about by some of the Old West buffalo hunters where the beasts unaccountably stood still to be shot one after another.

Anyway, a couple of questions:

1) If you find yourself with multiple targets what's the best tactic?

2) When you're shooting rabbits, how often do you miss? That is how many consecutive clean kills would you expect to achieve before a miss?

Cornishman

Guest varmartin

1.I generally shoot the largest - wisest ones first.....so ast not to spook the young ones ..then shoot as many as i can before they all leg it.

2.Empty the mag ...refill then fluff it on a long one ...so possably six then a miss......it all depends on how lucky I am ....its not often the same score ....

Martin