A day of first's

Having finished work early I got home for 4pm today. The sun was shining and I decided to have a trip over to some local ground that I picked up at Christmas. It’s within 20 miles of home, a rare thing in Derbyshire.

So I packed my bag and rifle, heading off in search of fallow. I have been out on this ground 3 times now and blanked on each outing. I am still learning the lay of the land. We have 3 high seats out and I had only used 2 so far. My intention was to find the 3rd and sit up and enjoy the sun. There was a hint of mist hanging just above the trees when I got to the ground and things felt well. The land is in a valley with heavy woods interspersed with plateaus on the steep sided banks. I headed from the car down into the valley as our land only covers the far side of the valley from the best access point down a well used farm track. As I headed into the bottom of the valley I was to be going to be heading to my left, I glassed the trees but saw no movement. As I got to the bottom I looked right and spotted 3 does 300 yards from me in a silage field. They soon made me with no cover around. Dam I thought that’s me done for the night. However I wandered on heading into the deep cover following a well used footpath. I knew I wouldn't see anything along this area due to the high number of dog walkers that think they can go anywhere. I moved quickly, I wanted to get into the high seat sharpish to allow things to settle. I reached the far end of the valley and now the climb started, it’s pretty steep on the sides of the valley. I walked about half a mile and reached the edge of the wood that borders more grazing fields, I was going to be sitting in a high seat just on the edge of the wood however the farmer was working in the field spreading muck. I decided to follow one of the well used deer paths instead of going through the field and see what I would run into.....