bullet advice please.............

Guest martin

Guest martin

I am going to be reloading very soon for my .204cal which I already have some load info for,but,I will be reloading for my .243 as well,and,was wondering what heads you stalkers use.I will be shooting mostly Roe and Muntjac,and,although most shots will most likely be around the 100mtrs distance, afew might be out to sort of 200-250mtrs.I am totally new to reloading,so,please be gentle with me..................Martin.

hi martin,

reloading for my 243 i am using 70 grain blitzking in a lapau case with cci br primer and 40 grains of varget groups well in my rifle and puts roe down very effectively when heart lung shot and not to much meat damage exit hole about twice size of entrance hole . also have friend using 70 grain noslers but my rifle dosent like them. but since found out it will shoot them if you drive them fast was recommended to get as near to 42 grains of varget as safe to with noslers.

also using some 87 grain v maxs same case and primer but down to 37 grains of varget and they group into the same at same range but bit better in winder conditions slightly more exit hole damage than the blitz king not much noticeable difference in put down effect but they do more internal organ damage .they are dead and down within 10 yds so far with boiler room shots furthest about 170 yds. have to say for long range stuff take the 308 for preference so far but still learning what the 243 will do with some crow and rabbit bashing.suspect the 70 grains would be to light on fallow but the 87grains would be ok on them

hope this helps but only shot roe so far muntjac effects not known they can be a law unto themselves, but have fun with the reloading warning it is addictive.from what i can workout the 243 is designed to shoot 70 to 90 grain bullets but you might find a 100 grain head to shoot if the twist in the barrel is right to keep you legal for scotland.

graham.