need advice on loads

irish hunter

Hi i recently fitted a new barrel to my ftr rifle, i have been told to try out some loads, using varget powder, the loads i have been told to make up are 46.5 gr to 47.9 gr going up in 2 gr incriments, can anybody tell me what would the required distance to try these out, would 100 yards be adequate or would i have to go out to 300 ?, I am fairly new to this so any help would be appreciated,thanks in advance.

I'd try them at 100 initially, then maybe out a bit further as you refine the load, but basically if it doesn't shoot at 100 it won't shoot at 300! Also at 300 your external forces ie weather play a much greater role.

Mike

I'd try them at 100 initially, then maybe out a bit further as you refine the load, but basically if it doesn't shoot at 100 it won't shoot at 300! Also at 300 your external forces ie weather play a much greater role.

Mike

[/qu

As Mike says,develop load at 100 for convenience,check the promising ones at 300,but do not expect 300 groups to be just 3x 100 ones,as many other factors start to take effect noticeably (x5 would be good).Ultimately check at the distance you want to shoot.

Try to avoid wind on days when you are testing loads.Balistic tables are a guide,treat as such.

gbal

thanks ike and gbal , i will try all @ 100 and see how they go , then try the better ones x 5 on a calm day @ 300 , hopefully they will be the ones to go out to 1000. Thanks again.

thanks ike and gbal , i will try all @ 100 and see how they go , then try the better ones x 5 on a calm day @ 300 , hopefully they will be the ones to go out to 1000. Thanks again.

I really meant your 300 y groups might be more than three times the size of your 100y groups-five times the size would be more like it,but it's a good idea to shoot some 5 shot groups too,as it does give a better idea of the rifles precision,with your good load,though you can get away with just 3 shots esp if the three are really close...good luck!

gbal