Trail cameras - converting to lamping kit battery - help

Hi guys,

I have a couple of trail cameras (Stealth Cam STC-I430IR and Bushnell Trailsentry) that I would like to convert to also use external power from possibly a lamping kit battery pack and the knowledge base here is my first port of call for DIY suggestions. Both cameras operate on 4x D cell batteries, but come the colder weather the batteries simply don't last outdoors. I thought of maybe using one of my lamping batteries to power up the cameras so they can be left out for longer periods of time. My biggest disappointment with the alkaline batteries was when we had set up one of the cameras overlooking machinery on the field following a spate of fuel theft. The farmer set up the camera and had nothing for about a week, but when the thieves finally came for the free fuel the batteries had ran flat.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Best,

George

I am not an electrician, but in my job, we have used and seen adapted tech surveilance kit set in fixed positions over long periods.

I am talking time lapse and motion sensor operated digital camera systems often small photocell powered via control release and a sealed lead acid battery - probably similar to my own lamping battery.

The power supply was built into a small pelicase with a switching unit to alter the power (current?) to the camera so it was the right level.

Made a useful, system that can be placed and left, without the need to return raising suspicion....

Cannot help on how to make the alterations, but it can be done...

Just on the back of the last post, I recall seeing some DIY trail camera designs on the web with external power source - may help to search on diy wilderness camera or similar..

Just on the back of the last post, I recall seeing some DIY trail camera designs on the web with external power source - may help to search on diy wilderness camera or similar..