Loading for a Martini Enfield

Davesson

That was the original Martini Henry when it was in .452.... When the .303 came into service it was originally a black powder cartridge in another Lee Rifle. But the Martini Enfield was mostly re-barrelled Martini Henrys chambered for .303 smokeless. History I am okay with but I am fairly new to re-loading

Im not convinced these were proofed for smokeless. But surely if so, should be nitropropf marked?

As for light loads, ive had success with trailboss across a variety of calibres, shooting many fullbore rifles indoors at 25m subsonic. The subsonic mark for .303/174gr is around 9gr of trailboss. More will produce supersonic speeds. Trailboss and cast lead boolits will be low pressure, and easy on the bore.

I assume you are going to shoot cast bullets? Google Ed Harris and Cast Bullet loads in Military Rifles which basically states:

1. 125 grain plain based "small game/gallery" 900-1000 f.p.s., 5 grains of Bullseye or equivalent.

2. 150 grain plain based "100-yard target/small game", 1050-1250 f.p.s., 7 grains of Bullseye or equivalent.

3. 170-180 grain gas checked "200 yard target", 1500-1600 f.p.s., 16 grains of Hercules #2400 or equivalent.

4. 180-200 grain gas-checked "deer/600 yard target", 1750-1850 f.p.s., 26 grains of RL-7 or equivalent.

I have always found the above loads to be remarkably effective regardless of calibre or cartridge and as stated above Trailboss is also well worth a look

I prefer trailboss over pistol powders personally. The thought of a double charge of bullseye doesnt sit well with me.....which is why I went for trailboss, big bulky, yet low density powder that fills cartridges well, with no need for fillers.

TB is great as you can safely fill a case if needed. I do all of the metallic loading and my wife does the powder throwing and there is always a visual check between us as she hands me the trays. Having said that I do agree a double load of pistol powder would not be fun.