Questions

527vamint

Before I start I'm relatively new to reloading.

1. bullets,if I have two bullet of the same weight, one flat Base one boat tail will there be a difference in pressure if using the same components,I'm thinking that the flat Base one would cause more due To more surface area causing more friction on the barrel.

2a.Will greater neck tension also cause more pressure.

2b.if I move the bullet out of the case closer to the lans, how will that effect pressure and speed if using the same amount of powder, will it drop. Is it more accurate further out.

3.Boat tail does the neck blow out more or faster than a flat base due to the shape.

3.twist rate does that alter the time the bullet stays in the barrel therefore effecting pressure and speed.

4.burn rate vit n1 powder is the powder all the same ingredients just different size kurnells ie n150 has larger kurnalls so it burns slower.

5. If fl sizing are you losing pressure due to the brass expanding into the chamber.

6. Is it better to measure weight or volume of powder,depending on powder choice. h335 meters well in my rcbs thrower less trickling and n150 is terrible more trickling.

I'm fl sizing throwing and trickling at the moment.

The questions above came from thinking to much whilst loading ammo.

Cheers Andy.

I will try to be brief and real world thoughts,,,

1 Not a pressure difference that I think you would need to consider or worry about

2a Aim to achieve 2 to 3 thou neck tension and again you will not need to consider this for pressure issues