.243 Case Overall length

Austin.243

Hi Guys,

I'm relatively new to the handloading scene and I have a question to ask.

I have recently acquired some Speer 85 grain boattails. I looked on the net and found a COL for the 85 grain bullet of 2.625" so loaded some up (with 40 grains of reloader 15) and went to the range. The group was pretty poor really being about 1.5" @ 100 yrds. I chronographed the load and the standard deviation was about +-10 fps so the poor group is nothing to do with large variations of fps.

I usually use a 58 grain V max with a COL of 2.600" which have produced groups around .3". Unfortunately I don’t have the ability to measure the length of the chamber and so I don't really have a point of reference.

Therefore I was wondering is there anything you would suggest to try and increase the accuracy eg increase COL- if so would this have any adverse effects?

Thanks

If it were me, I'd do a ocw test first. Then make adjustments to seating depth. That's what I was advised to do when I was developing a load. I presume that you have done some kind of charge weight testing?

You can make your own case length gage by slightly nipping the neck of one of your cases just enough to hold the bullet, leave it long and insert it gently into the chamber. Gently extrAct and measure. Do this half a dozen times and it will give you an good idea of your max seating depth... It's on you tube somewhere as how it's done.

Best of luck

Thanks fishnshoot,

Unfortunately I've been a bit rushed latley and I haven't done my ussual charge weight testing. I've got some spare time this weekend so I'm going to measure the chamber as you said, Hadn't thought of that! And do some charge weight testing and hopefully one of the combinations will work to better accuracy!

Thanks again

You have a bullet that shoots well with the 58gn. Why not buy a comparator and measure from the case Base to ogive, that will give you a more reliable reference point than using the COL.