I'm new to this long range shooting and I'm thing about getting a Howa varmint with a 24 inch barrel for doing some range work , I'm on a tight budget atm just wondering what do you guys think of the Howa for the range I like the look of the rem 700 sps varmint to but I'm not 100% sure what to get , atm I got a Howa varmint in 243 and I'm very impressed with that

Cheers

The 1500 Varmint is a good choice as a budget starter range rifle, but it does depend on the distances you want to shoot over. A 24-inch barrel is OK for up to 600 yards, loses out at 800 and is severely limiting (ie completely struggles) at 900 and 1,000.

The Remington SPS's 26-inches is a considerable help in the velocity stakes, although still shorter than ideal for the two longest distances. Precision wise, I doubt if there is anything much between them, Howa being likely better on production consistency thanks to Japanese manufacturing quality. People in the gunsmithing business who do work on Remingtons say they're still OK, but back home in the good ole US, there seems to be a view held by some shooters at least that Remington production quality has dropped and there are too many 'dogs' being turned out.

Neither has a great trigger from the factory, but there is a Timney model available for both and others for Remingtons. The SPS 700V hollow plastic stock is horrible, the Howa depends on what you specify if buying a new rifle and what you pay for. At worst, it's as bad as the SPS or even more so, at best you can get a good OEM stock at a lot less than you pay for a subsequent restocking of any rifle.