Ballistic calculators

PaulC

Hi i am fairly new to long range shooting and have used the lapua app and strelock app to work out calcs on my .308 @ 1000 yards they are both saying between 28 and 30 moa my load is a 155 scenar .508 g1 @ 2975 fps my actual elevation was 33.5 moa any tips on ballistic calculators or why mine was so far out would be great

thank's Paul

Hi Paul, the results you get out of a ballistic calculator are only as good as the information you enter. There as several factors to consider with the results you found when shooting at extended range - these are just some to consider: 1)How accurate is your 'known' velocity 2) what environmental conditions did you enter (barometric pressure and temperature will be used by the program to calculate density altitude which has a large effect on bullet flight) 3) have you 'trued' your scope?

The ONLY thing that matters is the results with your setup on target. You need to record and log all the necessary information and use it to create dope for your set-up.

On many calculators there is a facility to match your actual MOA with distance therefore truing your velocity. If you enter all the other information correctly you should see a ballistic curve that matches your actual drop.

I mention scope truing purely as something to consider - unless shooting ELR it is not really necessary. You should consider it because not all scopes will dial exactly an MOA - they can be very slightly off which will have a cumulative effect the further out you go. By truing a scope you are accurately measuring a set distance of travel (against graph paper) at an exact 100 yards distance. The point is your scope is not exactly calibrated - there is error inherently present although it may be only very small.

There is so much too this, I'd suggest you read through some of the threads both on here and other resources like Snipers Hide and learn as much as you can.