Some great shooting with even better company.

charly hunter

The last few times I have been out shooting has been such great trips, I don't mean for the amount of things shot but just the scenery and company I have been with and on top of that the unexpected sights also.

Boxing day was a late one for me this year as I was now well on Xmas day and it took a while to get going Boxing day morning, by the time I got my ass in gear we were heading out the door at about 12.00hrs. Not that that mattered any as it was a lovely day to be out in the countryside. We didn't see more than 6 woodcock all afternoon but that was made up by the 3 roe deer we saw, where I have never seen them before, and I have been shooting this ground for quite a few years now. So what a bonus that was.

New years eve and I take my mate Shrek and my son out lamping, it was a very warm night, well it hasn't been cold hardly at all this winter so far, I had just a T shirt and a quilted shirt on, no need for a coat. David shot well head shooting all but one rabbit, including 2 out to 100yds, give or take a few yds. Shrek had this vixen at just 40 - 45 yds with his 6.5 x 55 this fox just lay in the grass and wouldn't move so the only bit he could see was the top of her head, but I guess that don't matter at this range with that rifle ;)

shreks40yarderyv3.jpg