Interesting canine facts that may help when foxing

Tank

Hi all, i'm not a long range varminter,(yet ^_^ ), but i work a dog for a living so i thought i'd share some information about them and their senses which may help when you're out foxing.

1. The human nose contains a gland called the olfactory gland. For us, it contains in the region of 4 million olfactory cells. The olfactory gland and the size of it governs your ability to smell. A canines nose can contain anywhere between 200 and 240 million such cells, making it a far stronger sense than ours. If you get chance get a copy of the late Glenn R Johnsons 'Tracking dog, theory and methods', it shows how truly awesome their sense of smell is.

2. We humans shed 4 million-ish skin cells an hour. Just think, you're lying up for a fox, that's alot of scent blowing around. If you imagine your scent looks like smoke, (bear with me), it will pool in areas. In the urban environment it will pool against building lines, walls, fences, hedges etc. In rural areas it will pool anywhere that the wind can't blow it about.

Like i say, i'm not an expert varminter, just thought i'd share some of my knowledge of dogs with you in the vain hope it might help with taking care of charlie. Hope you have a good one,

Willy

willy-thats intresting about how many cells we shed :wacko