NEW UK RIFLE ACTION?

Taffbats

Evening all

I was wondering if there would be much interest in a mid priced, bench rest top quality (I'm taking bat, defiance, bighorn quality) British made action, aimed primarily at the prs/fclass benchrest crowd?

I am a cnc machinist/toolmaker by trade and have access to some Gucci kit and was wondering if this is a journey worth pursuing? 

I realise there have been some great action builders who have come and gone, but can't imagine why if there is still demand for new US made receivers?

Would you buy a British action on a par with Defiance for £750 say?

Regards

Kev

I would (and have)  if quality was on par. I guess our market has proven too small to sustain the investment?

Thats the tragedy.

Only one way to make lots of money supplying them UK shooting market…

start with an obscene amount of money and keep spending and spending till you only have lots left….

the market is too small, I’ve been involved in a fair few projects that have gone nowhere… 

2 hours ago, Taffbats said:

Evening all

I was wondering if there would be much interest in a mid priced, bench rest top quality (I'm taking bat, defiance, bighorn quality) British made action, aimed primarily at the prs/fclass benchrest crowd?

I am a cnc machinist/toolmaker by trade and have access to some Gucci kit and was wondering if this is a journey worth pursuing? 

I realise there have been some great action builders who have come and gone, but can't imagine why if there is still demand for new US made receivers?

Regards

Kev

I use Barnard actions - not USA, New-Zealand.   It would make no difference to me if it's British made or not - it's the quality and then price.  I would also want to know the manufacturer is likely to be around in five years time just in case I need parts etc.