338 lapua

gazzarM1

Just coming to the end of my supply of Ramshot Magnum which I have been using for several years with acceptable accuracy in my Barrett 98B with 225 and 250 grain bullets....looking for a different and available powder to increase accuracy potential with the same weight pills currently achieving 1.25 -1 moa at 100 yds which tightens up at 200yds and beyond a tad but I think I can better that.

Any suggestions?

Thanks Gents

3 minutes ago, gazzarM1 said:

Just coming to the end of my supply of Ramshot Magnum which I have been using for several years with acceptable accuracy in my Barrett 98B with 225 and 250 grain bullets....looking for a different and available powder to increase accuracy potential with the same weight pills currently achieving 1.25 -1 moa at 100 yds which tightens up at 200yds and beyond a tad but I think I can better that.

Any suggestions?

Thanks Gents

Not exactly what you've asked but if it's any use:

I use N570 Viht.  I get good results with 300gr Scenar and 285 ELD-M  out of a 32" 1:10 barrel.  I did use it for 250 Scenar but find they run out of legs at 1500m and accuracy drops rapidly.  RS80 has been recommended to me, not had a chance to try as yet.  RS70 may be a better choice for the 225gr.

Not a .338LM but I do shoot a .338 Norma Magnum. Only 6% less case capacity.

I shoot HbN coated 300gn Scenars to good effect with my 27” barrel.

Ive used RAMSHOT Mag a fair bit as that’s what the .338NM was originally designed to use with 300gn Sierra match kings. But I found RAMSHOT Mag quite dirty, had poor ES/SD and wasn’t as tight group wise as I wanted.

I did find RS80 to be an amazing powder for the heavy 300gn bullets. Very clean, nice recoil impulse, tight groups and low ES/SD. I think my load of 94.5gn RS80 and 300gn Scenar (note...it’s HbN treated) now runs around 2800fps and has an SD of 4-6fps.

I bought 10kg of RS80 as I like it so much 😁