Interesting points on annealing

Catch-22

I know what you’re all thinking, “Uh oh, not ANOTHER thread about annealing”.

However, I came across a couple of really interesting videos by a chap who’s supposedly a metallurgist by trade and is a shooter. I found his vids to be very informative and explain the annealing process in greater detail than I’d read/heard before. 

I’ve been annealing for a while and, tbh, I just followed the crowd using tempilaq 750f on the inside of the necks to see when it’s at temp, thinking once the paint tells me it’s done then the brass is correctly annealed. I sort of felt that made sense, even though I didn’t fully understand the ‘how’ behind it - specifically how the 750f temp was derived and whether using tempilaq (or other) markers actually meant I was annealing correctly.

I used to gas anneal, now use a home made induction machine but the thing I’ve learnt most here is the use of such paints may actually mean you’re not getting a full proper anneal. The charts used to infer the 700-750f temp range, which we’ve all read and understand to be the correct annealing temp, actually state you require a 750f temperature over a 1hr period. Time is the crucial thing here. Obviously our cases would be ruined after 1hr as the case head would be affected.

His video explains we should reach a higher temp for a short time (eg 900-1000f for a few seconds) so it achieves the same equivalent annealing value of 750f over a 1hr period. 
His explanation and charts kinda made sense to me. At least I feel someone explained the mathematics/metallurgical thinking behind the rationale, as apposed to just someone on a forum saying ‘buy 750f tempilaq and you’re good’.