Sako trg 22 rebarrel

Lloyd

So time has come to rebarrel my TRG chambered in 308 this will be my first experience of doing this with a rifle so I'm a total newbie. I'm happy with the calibre for what shooting I do and for the "components I have in stock" which I have enough of to last me a long time so calibre change is not on my mind. Has anyone rebarreled a TRG and if so what barrel, twist rate, length, profile & no of groves... I shoot mostly 150-175gr bullets. I would like to keep the gun at the same weight because I do some long range steel plinking plus carbon fiber barrels are too expensive. Any advice would be appreciated.

On 2/24/2021 at 7:56 PM, Lloyd said:

So time has come to rebarrel my TRG chambered in 308 this will be my first experience of doing this with a rifle so I'm a total newbie. I'm happy with the calibre for what shooting I do and for the "components I have in stock" which I have enough of to last me a long time so calibre change is not on my mind. Has anyone rebarreled a TRG and if so what barrel, twist rate, length, profile & no of groves... I shoot mostly 150-175gr bullets. I would like to keep the gun at the same weight because I do some long range steel plinking plus carbon fiber barrels are too expensive. Any advice would be appreciated.

Is the gun still shooting decent groups consistently? If it is, don’t do anything to it until your groups start opening up and random fliers appear.

Lloyd, I would highly recommend contacting Ronin or Baldie on here, both are excellent gunsmiths. They are both very capable of doing a re-barrel and will probably have barrel blanks in stock and are best suited to advise on length and profile.