Firstly , I should mention I'm a beginner when it comes to fullbore . I shoot smallbore on a regular basis . So please bear with me 😀

Am I right in assuming that most shooters in F class use second focal plane ? 

I must admit most of the scopes I can afford seem to offer more FFP than SFP . I can see that FFP could be useful if you simply want to holdover for E/W regardless of the mag . Can't really spend more than 1500.00 on glass . Its  to sit on a 6.5 Creedmoor 🙂

Loads of great options around the £1500 mark. What sort of shooting do you do?

Logical would be to recommend FFP and mil/mil but depends on your use.

If you looking at new I would suggest for your budget:

Delta STRYKER ED 4.5-30x56 HD
Vortex PST gen II 5-25

Bushnell DMR

If you don’t mind using used you can start even picking up S&B PMII 5-25 or other high end glass, kahles etc  

Don’t forget to budget for a decent set of mounts. 

But until we know a little bit more about your shooting it’s hard to recommend FFP vs SFP.

ps what creedmoor rifle do you own?

there's plenty of good stuff for your budget. 

I use both ffp and sfp scopes for targets.  I don't see any benefit of ffp over sfp if you are just punching paper.  Hold over is easy to estimate from the target rings without recourse to measuring with the reticle.  Where ffp really comes in is at long ranges with steel plates etc,  where off target splash can be measured and transferred to you firing solution quickly and easily.  I've never found that necessary with paper targets out to 1200yds.  Also, some cheaper end ffp scope reticles become quite thick at extended magnification.

Both the Delta & Vortex scopes mentioned by markymark are excellent, I've no experience of the Bushnell.

Sightron scopes are in your budget, but MOA is my preference for fclass and benchrest shooting. 

7mm fclass open sightron 10-50x60 LRMOA 

6br Fclass and benchrest sightron 8-32x56 LRMOA. 

Thanks nick