6.5CM RS62 next steps in load dev

JockStalk

Thanks for all the great info shared on this forum, it has certainly helped me get (I think) the right foundations for a load in a new rifle. Objective for me is to push my own limits of shooting at distance (I've shot little beyond 400m). I've been reloading for a few years for deer rifles and seem to be nurturing an inner geek to improve accuracy.

Dasherman supplied me with a very nice cut rifled sassen barrel in a remmy action, 8 twist 24" heavy profile. That now sits in an AICS stock with riflebasix trigger at 2.5oz and I use a moderator. Based on advice on here and from friends, I've assembled new lapua s/r brass, RS62, 139 scenars and CCI 450 primers. I also have ELDX's in 143gr - because even though its a target rifle, it is also cleared for deer control. Not the first rifle I'd pick up to tab through a glen though.

With the benefit of a pal running a quickload projection, after reading all the info on here and some of Lauries excellent posts, I put some loads together of 5 rounds each at .3 grain intervals from 42.8 to 44.6gr and COAL of 2.812 with a spare 5 rounds at the starting charge weight to zero.

I don't have ready access to a chrony so am relying a fair bit on trial and error. Image shows the outcome at 100m with things tightening up at 44.6gr.

My next thoughts are to fine tune seating depth and charge weights. Then stretch out the distance and see how it performs.

What would you recommend next and in what order? First on my list being a coffee and a biscuit....

JS

IMG_3190[1].JPG

Did you see any pressure signs at 44.6gn? What I mean; hard extraction, shiny spot underside case rim from ejector, flattened/cratered/pierced primer, gas leak from around primer? 

If not, then I try a charge at 44.9gn.

Your loads at 44.3gn and 44.6gn look to have nice low vertical. They also look to shoot a consistent POI.