Rounded Shoulders

redding

Been reloading a long time and never seen this before

Just resized some freshly annealed .308 brass with a new Redding Type S Bushing Die with a bushing to size the neck back by 2 thou, I have never used a Bushing Die before by the way

I used One shot lube as I have been for years.

As you can see the shoulders are rounded, never seen this before and as you can imagine they will not chamber

I am stumped, have I set the die up wrong or what, additionally there seems to be very little neck tension.

Any help would be appreciated.

20200614_171527.jpg

20200614_171721.jpg

20200614_182212.jpg

Edited by redding
Added new pic, proper case on right

What size bushing?  Are these cases out of your die or after you've tried seating a bullet?

This looks like the neck has been pushed back which could be over annealed brass - too soft.  If this is the case the brass is probably scrap though you maybe able to work harden it by resizing a few times.

The lack of neck tension implies an over annealed case too.

Can you stand them next to a good  case so we can see the amount of distortion please?

It looks to me like the neck has squashed back due to the brass being too soft and dragging on the bush during sizing.  There's nothing special about bushing dies beyond being able to adjust the neck tension more precisely.

Bushing is in contact with the top of the neck / shoulder pushing it downwards and rounding off the shoulder 

suggest you look at the instructions with the die and set it as per that then re start 

Agree with pops n ronin , do you normally anneal your brass or was this a new step in your prep  ? Try sizing an un anneal case and compare ? It could be either or both. Atb  

Not normally anneal, had it done by someone else.

Just prepped 5 more this morning and they are perfect.

One thing I dont get is that Redding say to turn S type die down to make firm contact with shellholder, yet others say back out 1/4 turn.