.44 mag advice

Kipper

Depends if you want to shoot full power with copper bullets or mild cowboy type loads shooting lead.

I like to shoot a mild(ish) load of hard cast lead in my .44mag Rossi underleaver. Great accurate fun out 50yds or so but 100yds is like shooting a mortar...still fun none the less!

Most accurate load I’ve found is 10.8gn of Viht N340 with the 240gn Lead RNFP. Starline brass, Murom Large Pistol Primers.

I get bulk boxes from Shell House Bullet Company. Great people to deal with. These are the 240gn RNFP bullets I use;

https://www.shellhousebulletcompany.com/new-products/240gr-44-rnfp-sized-to-430432

Yes to large pistol primers.

Unsure about Bullseye as I’ve never used it before.

Bear in mind that with lead you can’t push the velocity too hard because you’ll get serious leading in the barrel. I normally try to duplicate a cowboy action load. Zero recoil and just tonnes of fun. 0.5kg of powder makes up around 400 rounds, so cheap feeding. 

I’d say Unique, RS20, Viht N330, N340 and possibly Vhit N32C are good for this application. They err on the side of a .44spl load and are just about right with a lead bullet. 

Slower powders, like Viht N105 and N110 are good if wanting to shoot full power .44mag loads with copper bullets. Just don’t shoot lead with them.

One thing to bear in mind with pistol powders is how a minute amount of powder can make a massive difference. They burn fast and can spike quickly, so make your test loads up in 0.1 to 0.2gn increments. And always double check you’ve not thrown a double charge. Rifle powders give much better case to fill ratio, making it harder to double throw. But pistol powders seldom fill the case up (especially if using the fast powders), so make sure you double check as it’s easy to have a nasty surprise.

Best of luck!