Best Precision Production Rifle

JDT

So just when I was about to start target / long range shooting at a few clubs, the whole coronavirus thing kicked off (literally the week before I was meant to have my first weekend on the range).

I’ve got plenty of shooting experience on vermin so had it in my head that once I was a member of the clubs I’d get a 6.5 Creedmoor on my ticket and go down the full custom route built on a Bighorn Origin.

Obviously since then I’ve had more than enough time to mull this over and concluded that it’s probably not the best call and I should be spending any extra money on ammo and punching as much paper on the range (when we can all get back to it of course...) to just improve at target shooting in general. I realistically couldn’t afford a full custom rifle and have enough money left over to get optics anywhere near good enough to do it justice.

So with that in mind I started googling best production / ‘out-of-the-box’ long range / tactical precision rifles for 600 - 1000 yards. Just wondering what people’s opinions on this are? I like the Bergara Premier LRP but don’t think it comes in lefty. Also the Bad Rock South Fork (which I believe is a production rifle made by Defiance) which does comes in lefty but not sure I could get one over here:

https://badrockrifles.com/

Or...am I just better off getting a semi-custom trued-up donor Remy 700 with a Sassen barrel and Mcmillian stock and tuned trigger from a reputable gunsmith? Or would that also be significantly more expensive than a production rifle?

All thoughts very much appreciated.

7 minutes ago, topscots1 said:

Bergarra HMR, I have mine bedded I a PSE stock.  Incredible rifle for the money, thinking about a carbon fibre barrel. If I do total all in cost will have been around 3 K

It shoots ok then 👍🏻

30 minutes ago, JDT said: