Pard NV 007

Paul Cat

I bought one of these and used it for the first time last night. While I've no other experience of using NV equipment apart from a budget spotter I have to say I'm mightily impressed.

It attaches via a collar that clamps onto the scope, the unit then attaches in a bayonet fitting type of way. Being a bit fussy and not wanting to scratch my scope I faffed around for an hour or so winding strips of plastic tape around the outside of the scope and the inside of the collar so that I can slide the whole thing on and off to either use the rifle in daylight or the unit as a spotter.

The instruction manual is in Chinglish so not particularly helpful. I'll be learning some of the functions (recording video on the micro SD card, etc) by trial and error with lots of swearing. It has a wi-fi (Bluetooth) function so you can also live stream to a phone, handy if others want to watch. As Nobby Nomates I shoot alone so won't have much call for that!

The basics were pretty easy to pick up and I got a couple of hours in last night (battery was only partially charged) during which time I was able to bag three rabbits. I even walked up on a couple of foxes waiting to ambush rabbits coming through a hedge. I got within about 70 yards (range estimation is tricky for now) and saw a rabbit pass them by. I watched him hop around for about five minutes then shot him for them. Their respite was temporary, I'll be going back for them before lambing season.

I was sceptical about the unit's 5W illuminator so used my Ledray 900 but needn't have bothered. The illuminator has three settings and the manufacturer claims it to be good for up to 300 yards. I was easily spotting out to 200 yards last night and with a bit more practice and familiarity reckon their claim would not be far off the mark.

Prices vary around £400, I paid £375 from a really helpful vendor. I'm not sure about forum rules so won't post a link but if anyone wants more details PM me.