Scope elevation question

RAW

Hi

I have a problem and wondered if anyone can help.

I have my gong set out at 1000 mtrs, this has been a long awaited affair, but finally got round to it, perfect morning, kestrel set up and dialling in but ran out of elevation, bullocks!!!!

Right I am no expert thought I could rezero but tried to bore sight it with the elevation set to its lowest point but ret about 1 foot above target, had to do one complete elevation to drop cross hairs onto target at 25 yards. So what am I doing wrong, I want to get the scope zeroed on its first elevation.

Rifle. 260 AI AT 

Scope 5-25X56 schmidt and bender PM2 pf4

Any help?

Cheers 

1 minute ago, furrybean said:

Have you got an inclined rail on the gun? 

If not a 20moa rail may help

I was given the advice of  a 0moa would give plenty it's a spuhr, I have a feeling this advice was inaccurate?

Hello Raw

The advice you were given for the rail was correct. 

On a .260 you would need approx. 30MOA to reach 1000m. Your scope of choice has over 90MOA of adjustment meaning that on a flat rail (even after accounting for drop to zero at 100) you would have over 40MOA of available elevation, more than enough.

I think it is more likely that the scope is not set up properly.

Do you have a solid 100M zero?

Once you have your zero did you swing the turrets (unscrew the grub screws on the elevation turret and turn the turret to zero)?

Let me know if you still have problems but I doubt it is the scope that's the issue.

Ewen

5 minutes ago, Deserttech Europe said:

Hello Raw

The advice you were given for the rail was correct. 

On a .260 you would need approx. 30MOA to reach 1000m. Your scope of choice has over 90MOA of adjustment meaning that on a flat rail (even after accounting for drop to zero at 100) you would have over 40MOA of available elevation, more than enough.

I think it is more likely that the scope is not set up properly.

Do you have a solid 100M zero?