6.5cm load advice

red_squirrel

Hi, firstly sorry for the long post!

I'm just starting out in rifle reloading, and need to choose a load for the comp at roundhouse nr bodmin next weekend. Yesterday I shot the test rounds over a magnetospeed chrono, I'd be very grateful for any help in choosing which one to load!!

Rifle Specs: Howa 1500 24" with mod.

Reloading: Rs62 powder, new starline large primer brass, bevelled, primer demurred and chamfered by hand. Run through a lyman m neck expander, primed (fiche large rifle), individually weighed powder drop and seated and crimped in lee dies on my dillon xl 650. oal 2.84.

Here is the data we recorded:

lap 139gr scenar

41.5, av velocity 2620, sd 42, .8moa

42 av velocity 2724, sd 43, 1.08 moa

42.5 av velocity 2760, sd 19, .85 moa

43 av velocity 2780, sd 22, 0.93 moa

43.5 av velocity 2835, sd 20, 1.02 moa

Hornady 140gr eld

41.5, av velocity 2567, sd 13, .48moa

42 av velocity 2679, sd 9, .9 (0.4 with 1 flyer) moa

42.5 av velocity 2686, sd 19, .71 moa

43 av velocity 2726, sd 26, 0.93 moa

43.5 av velocity 2749, sd 24, 1.01 moa

I had loaded 44 hrs but didn't fire them as I was getting quite a heavy bolt lift and some really defined ejector marks. I'm thinking the best in terms of sd and grouping were the 42.5 with the scenars, and the 42 with the hornady elds, but the velocity is not as high as I had expected. Will the velocity go up a bit with once fired brass? Would I be better going for the higher velocity, bearing in mind the shoot next weekend is at up to 1100yds? 

Any and all advise gratefully received :-)

Hi mate, i might be wrong but I would say your pressure will come down a little when using once fired brass over new

fyi I’m shooting 140gr eldms with once fired Hornady brass, cci 250 primers , 44.3gr rs62 , ABSOLUTELY NO PRESSURE SINGS 

ever so slightly compressed load seated at 2.811 oal 

i will put them over a magnetospeed one day this week and update  you but they shoot .25 MOA