I'm not a WIS, but....Omega, Rolex, TAG etc

I've been struck by a few 'chats' with UKVers that an enthusiasm for precision rifles often seems to correlate with an enthusiasm for top-end watches.

I'll put my hand up to having bought my first Rolex waaaaay back when I was an officer cadet at Sandhurst....never collected Rolexes, or become obsessed about my interest in them, but always seen them as something between 'a tool' and 'backup currency on my wrist' - whilst also being fascinated by the intricate mechanical excellence.

Is the interest widespread amongst us?

• Replies 260
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Might be.........says the geezer with a 26 year old GMT Master.

Although I've never wanted to change it or collect them.

Mick, I clocked your GMT around 18 years ago, when we first met ! :)

Well, you know it is here! Currently 11 watches and counting.

But.. you don't have to go top end to be a proper WIS. CWC, Timefactors, Seiko...there are many affordable options which can be just as satisfying. I currently have a Getat sterile Radiomir homage on my wrist that was custom built to my specs. The Seagull hand-wound movement is freakishly accurate. Cost...only about £100.

I have a TAG now destined for work and every day and anothe rarriving soon for hidays and holidays. Plus another planned for 50 th birthday pressy in a couple of years.

15 year old seamaster chronometer, bought in geneva airport whilst intoxicated. Got an automatic for the price of a battery one in the drunken confusion!

I've been struck by a few 'chats' with UKVers that an enthusiasm for precision rifles often seems to correlate with an enthusiasm for top-end watches.