222 or a 1.7 center fire

Guest luckyjohn99

Guest luckyjohn99

i have an 1.7 hmr and thinking about getting another gun but not sure on what to get i mainly shoot in wales with a bunch of lads ..we mainly shoot rabbits and fox but i'm no expert in they gun world if you goto a shop they will sell u anything to get money out of you..what would be a better gun a 222 or a 1.7 center fire i am having them put on my licence as we speak any help plz

222 over the .17 but as silent says don`t discount the 223.

Ballistics wise theres not a lot between the 222 & 223 but theres a lot more choice of both rifles and factory ammo in the latter :D

I had a 17 rem about 15 years ago and it was a great little cal in the right conditions but it suffers from severe wind drift despite what some might say ;)

.22-250 or .223.

If its a real firecracker your lookin for then .220 Swift...but barrel life is short on those.

The .221 Fireball is a good one too

308Panther

Now if we`re talking on those lines 22-250 ;)

I would go for the .222.

I read on this board so often that the 308 is a better cartridge then the 30-06 because while similar in power, the 308 in inherently more accurate. Well, the same goes for the .222 VS the .223. I own them both. ~Andrew

+1 on the 222 I have a tikka 595 and have never regretted it. The 223 benefits from the military connection for cheap fmj ammo and it is popular across the pond for the same reason, but the 222 is inherently more accurate, its quieter and gives up little in distance.50 gr nosler ballistic tips rem 7 1/2 primer, 25grs BLC2, 3000fps, sweet to shoot,nice and quiet without a mod, .5" grps or better all day, whats to not like?.

p1010004-1.jpg

187yds easy stuff. legal for muntjac here , roe in scotland.