G1 or G7????

When using a ballistics calculator such as Hornady, if I enter a .224 40 gn hornady vmax bullet with a stated bc of 0.200 should I enter G1 or g7 into the system? simple terms please as I am new to all this, I read the other post on "G1orG7" and it all went over my head!!!

Regards Aj

I am still scratching my head!!!!! so the bc value that Hornady quote of 0.200 refers to a G1 calculation and G7 is something different, so if G7 is better suited to a boat tail bullet like the vmax how can I get a bc value for G7 model????? ( should have stuck to a bow and arrow!!)

I am still scratching my head!!!!! so the bc value that Hornady quote of 0.200 refers to a G1 calculation and G7 is something different, so if G7 is better suited to a boat tail bullet like the vmax how can I get a bc value for G7 model????? ( should have stuck to a bow and arrow!!) And how do you delete a post if you do as I have just done?????

the g1 and g7 figures refer to co efficents for bullets iof different form facters (shape) the g1 is for a flat base standard form facter and the G7 is for a boat tail type form factor

this expanation is in a very simple and broadly description there is a lot more to it

I just entered all my figures into the Hornady calculator using the 0.200 g1 model, then the Figure that you gave me for G7 model and the results were quite a bit different!!! for eg bullet drop at 300 yds was over 3 inches less with the G7 model, II am surprised at the difference

no mate just shoot youre rifle itll blow youre mind and confuse you silly

Broadly,probably true.

It might help to think of G1 as the original system for calculating BC,based on conical (artillery) shells.Most bullet manufacturers used it as it was the only system.