Cant Get Zero

I have a 0 degrees picatinny rail on a sako quad heavy barrel in 17hmr , and i assembled it today, and have tried sighting it in.

I am using a brand new S and B precision hunter 4-16 x 50 lm p3 (s/n 352654), and so far i'm not getting on at all...........at 100 metres with hornady 17 gr v maxs, i am at full adjustment on the riflescope and still the bullets are hitting +/-7 cm low at 100 metres.

I chose this scope to give me the necessary 16 x magnification to shoot my main quarry, magpies and crows, at ranges 100-200 metres. and by my ballistics charts, zeroed at 100 metres i could use 4 x 1/2 cm clicks of bdc at 125 metres, 11 clicks at 150, 18 at 175 metres, and 27 at 200 metres to suit the trajectory of the ammunition. But at full scope adjustment, as discussed, i am still 7cm too low, i am at the extreme adjustment on the scope. Is this normal with this set up with this calibre, at this range, with this scope, or is their a fault with the scope ?.

I have 30 mm sako optiiock rings mounted onto the picatinny rail with sako optilock weaver bases, the rings are the medium version (36.5mm high) and so leave the centre of the riflescope approx 56 mm above the centre bore of rifle.

and there is a free distance of 15 mm from outside of objective lens to the top of rifle barrel, but even if i use the extra low sako optilock rings (30.5mm) that would only take 6 mm off the bore/scope height, leaving the centre's at 50mm.

Would getting the scope closer to the barrel by this 6 mm get me on the target. I don't think so, and so i am asking what else can be done, to get this riflescope to work with this rifle, and calibre, and ammunition.

I know of another member with the same 0 picatinny rail on a sako quad with a Leupold VX-3 6.5-20 x 40 LR with Leupold QRW mounts, but has no issues with same ammo. Have i done something fundamentally wrong in assembly ?.