Steyr .308 CISM

Streeker59

Does anyone have any experience of this rifle ?

I know this much... It was discontinued about 10 years ago.

It's a precision 300 meter UIT, CISM match rifle.

Made with laminated stock for target and polymer stock for military sniping.

My questions are :-

Are there any known probs with this rifle?

It has a tiny ejection port. Will it clip cases on ejection? I once had a .223 steyr that did clip cases and mag feeding was unreliable too.

Is it easily rebarreled ?

Would it hold its own against a TRG ?

steyr308cism.jpg

All replies appreciated...

Grant..

I have no knowledge personally Grant.

I recall an old issue of Target Sports magazine had a test of one (308 in black painted laminate stock) which looks pretty similar although that was the "tactical version"

from memory there was no mention of the issues you mention.

If I can find it, I will dig out the copy.

Maybe Laurie or Vince have knowledge as the test rifle may have been part of an ammunition test....memory fades with age

Streaker,

If your not sure about the CISM but would like a Steyr I know of a 308 heavy barrel SBS tactical model in the McMillan adjustable stock ( http://www.mcmfamily.com/mcmillan-stocks-t...ck-list.php#sbs ) that's sitting in someone's cabinet pretty much unused, think it has some 10 and 5 round mags with it, bi-pod etc. Do not think he wants much for it last time i spoke to him - would you like me to ask?

Brgds Terry

Thanks Terry. I'm going to wait till my dosh comes through next year and go for a TRG.

I'm the worlds worst for buying in haste and repenting at leisure...lol.. After having to sell my beloved .308 sako 75, i'm determined to replace it with a worthy successor..

Thanks all the same for your attention though... ;)

Streeker,

No sweat, just thought I'd 'pipe up'. I'd personnaly go the TRG route of the two actually, always seem to shoot very well.