Andrew re Hornet crimping

nicholiath

I am new to reloading. I have loaded some 35gn V Max with lilgun and have crimped with Lee factory crimp die.

I initially set die as per Lee instructions, screw in til stop on ram then plus 1/2 turn, this did not appear to place case high enough in crimp.

I then did in til stop on ram, plus 1/2 turn, plus 1/6 turn (using 6 sides of lock ring as a guide) This again as above.

I then did in til stop on ram, plus 1/2 turn, plus 2/6 turn. This showed crimp marks on case.

I cannot upload picture to this forum, could i possibly email you a pic of crimped rounds to see if you think they are OK ?

I tried to send PM but iwould not let me! :D

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I shoot this load in my Hornet. If I remember correctly I had to wind the die in a little more than the basic 1/2 turn. I'm pretty sure it says you can in the instructions, but I can't find mine! My crimps look pretty firm. They look like they squash the bullet slightly but it shoots perfectly.

Andrew is currently recovering from some medical procedures, so he'll probably see this post fairly soon (though he may be bit loopy from the pain meds B) ). I'd say the deltas you're seeing wrt the instructions is due to the variances in various manufacturer's shell holders, so the crimp dies have to allow for thicker SH's (RCBS's tend to run a bit thicker than Lee's).

I have to give Andrew a call tonight and check up on him, so I'll mention this post...

Andrew is currently recovering from some medical procedures, so he'll probably see this post fairly soon (though he may be bit loopy from the pain meds :P ). I'd say the deltas you're seeing wrt the instructions is due to the variances in various manufacturer's shell holders, so the crimp dies have to allow for thicker SH's (RCBS's tend to run a bit thicker than Lee's).

I have to give Andrew a call tonight and check up on him, so I'll mention this post...