Scope advice

Guest Flung

Guest Flung

Morning all, I'm new at this and I'm sure the topic has been covered before; but I recently gained my FAC - bit of a saga and have bought a CZ 452 .22 RF carbine with a Simmons WTC 4-9 X 40mm. I was lucky enough to pick up a used Meopta 6 x 42mm from a really nice guy who stalks locally; so I've put that on a CZ 527 .22 Hornet that I intend to use for foxing.

Anyway, the Simmons gives a view that's nowhere near the elderly Meopta so I plan to change that and put the Simmons back on the AA S200 air rifle.

Question is; would it be better to look for a higher mag Meopta or ??? and put that on the Hornet; then put the older Meopta on the RF?

My friend has just got his FAC - and bought a CZ 452 .17HMR with a Nikko Sterling Diamond 1.5-6mm with a 30mm tube and this gives a pretty good scope view as well.

What are your thoughts guys - PS I'm a spec's wearer and find that with some scopes I need to remove my specs to get a clear(ish) view but with the Meopta I don't - ?????

Regards,

name='Flung' post='55047' date='Apr 24 2009, 10:12 AM']Morning all, I'm new at this and I'm sure the topic has been covered before; but I recently gained my FAC - bit of a saga and have bought a CZ 452 .22 RF carbine with a Simmons WTC 4-9 X 40mm. I was lucky enough to pick up a used Meopta 6 x 42mm from a really nice guy who stalks locally; so I've put that on a CZ 527 .22 Hornet that I intend to use for foxing.

Anyway, the Simmons gives a view that's nowhere near the elderly Meopta so I plan to change that and put the Simmons back on the AA S200 air rifle.

Question is; would it be better to look for a higher mag Meopta or ??? and put that on the Hornet; then put the older Meopta on the RF?

My friend has just got his FAC - and bought a CZ 452 .17HMR with a Nikko Sterling Diamond 1.5-6mm with a 30mm tube and this gives a pretty good scope view as well.