Sooty cases

No i deer

I started shooting a COF at 600yds this afternoon with my 6.5x47 and cases started coming out sooty....

Load was 

Lapua brass, Br4s, 140gr amaxs over 41.5grs of RS62. It was 2,120 comparator measure jumping 20 thousanths 

brass was on its second firing a after annealing.

It didn't seem affect it's Accuracy.

Just out of curiosity I swapped the moderator for a muzzle brake to see If there was any difference in accuracy and if anything it was slightly better with the brake and the soot that went all down around the cases had stopped and gone back to being a little sooty around the necks only....🤔

I have used this load before and it didn't do it......

I was wondering if some debris or a few rain drops my have got on the brass which then found itself in the chamber which stopped it sealing the chamber on the ignition of the powder....

I wouldn't of thought the swapping of mod too the brake made any difference or would it.....???

I have had similar with my creedmoor, it’s was almost like a smokey effect down the cases , like you it’s a very well used and tested load buy myself. 
I did notice the case sometimes times felt what I can only describe as damp ? 
which I put down to cold ambient air temp and a warm chamber . 
anyway it’s only happened once . 
rightly or wrongly that’s what I put it down to. 
also like yourself accuracy was not effected . 

it’s just a shooting  El Niño effect.

Yeah Smokey would describe it and handling them it came strait off on my fingers/hand.

We're you happen to be using RS62.

All my 6.5x47 brass is now freshly annealed ready for firing again.

Today's brass will prepped and re-annealed.

I wouldn't know but is it quite a mild load / slow powder? Sometimes too low a pressure will not make the case obturate fully in the chamber.

Re. moderators they are known to create 'back pressure'. Not normally an issue with bolt guns but the Americans have to worry about it with their autos.