Enfield T4 zeroing problem.

alpha1

I have a T4 I thought it was time I started shooting it. It came fitted with none gunsmithing scope rail. I fitted a nightforce scope to it and took it to the range. I tried to zero it at 100 yards with no success. I asked some of the other guys who have more experience than me with scopes to zero it. They had no success. I stuck it back in the cabinet and forgot about it. Today I had access to a 25 yard range that allows you to shoot full bore so I took it with me. I managed to get it on the paper but at twenty five yards it shoots 4 inches high but I ran out of adjustment on the scope. I’m thinking it’s the rail but I would appreciate any input from someone with more experience. Scopes are a dark art to me. I took the scope off when I got home and removed the mount the mount has been shimmed this makes me think the previous owner may have had some issues with it.

Non-gunsmithing scope rails are renowned for being, how can you put it, ........shite

There are too many variables in the rifle and the mount to get a perfect fit.

Take it to a gunsmith, or get proper mounts fitted.

You could have a front pad and a rearsight pad, like the Enfield Enforcer mounted. You could have No.4T pads on the side mounted professionally and use a 4T mount.

Or, you could ask a gunsmith to fit the 'No Gunsmithing' mount properly

Just some thoughts

On 1/27/2019 at 3:42 PM, Roy W said:

You could have a front pad and a rearsight pad, like the Enfield Enforcer mounted. You could have No.4T pads on the side mounted professionally and use a 4T mount.

Or, you could ask a gunsmith to fit the 'No Gunsmithing' mount properly

Just some thoughts

Yes I  could have a front pad and a rearsight pad, like the Enfield Enforcer mounted. Yes I  could have No.4T pads on the side mounted professionally and use a 4T mount. But that could cost more than the rifles worth.