Bullet Choice Advice

Hi Folks,

I’m just starting in my longer range apprenticeship and am very much at entry level. I have been shooting my Howa 308 at 600 yards regularly and get very good results using SMK 155 (#2155) bullets.

However, I am just starting out with shoots at up to 1000 yards about 3 or 4 times a year and just wonder whether I should explore other bullet choices. Having done research on this and other forums I find my mind a little boggled to be honest.

Anecdotally, I’ve been advised to go for the Sierra 168 TMK bullet to suit my needs which is very informal, just long range plinking really. What would others with similar experience and expectations advise?

If it is a few times a year and you are just starting out then the 2155 is absolutely fine. Sure there is better but if you are just learning and only doing the occasional LR shoot then it will be fine provided you are pushing it fast enough ie 2900 FPS / probably need a 26”+ barrel. 

The 168 SMK is literally the only choice I wouldn’t recommend for 1k. Yes it can work but there are thousands of pages written on it being sub optimal. If you want to try something else that’s affordable and in regular supply then the 175gr Sierra TMK or SMK is perfectly good enough. Again, there are better of course. 

Spend your time, money and effort on good instruction vs trying to find the optimal bullet would be my 2 cents at this stage of your journey. 

Thanks TJC, I did wonder if I was being steered down the wrong lane tbh. I think I'll explore some further loads on the 155 first then and get hold of some 175's to play with when I next pick some bullets up.