Learning to adjust a scope.

benny1996

Hey folks. So I have been shooting with club guns, but whenever I have shot, the rifle has normally been set up already or someone has told me the adjustments. So I have not really had much of a chance to learn. I know bits and pieces and am actively researching and learning the techniques, but am still trying to get me head around it. If anyone could suggest any sites or resources to help me out, or offer any tips then I would appreciate it.

Air rifle is good advise, that's how i started learning about it, because you have a more prominent trajectory, so need to adjust the scope more often for different ranges.

My problem is the MRAD formula for shooting at longer ranges. For example, the place locally to me shoots 300 yards at the minimum. So how do I go from putting a new scope on a rifle, to zeroing at 300 yards. How do I work out the initial clicks is what I am after.

You don't want to zero at 300 yards....100 yards for this.

You also need to get the muzzle velocity of your ammo  via chronographing......see if someone will do it for you.

After that either buy or borrow a ballistic app such as Applied Ballistics or Strelok for your smartphone.....with a little bit of input data (too much to describe here but anyone you shoot with should be able to help) it will get you on paper at longer ranges.

All you need to remember is that a Mil scope normally has .1 mil clicks and  each click will cause the point of impact to raise by 1cm at 100 metres....an angular change which produces 2cms elevation at 200 metres etc etc for further out.

An MOA scope typically has 1/4 moa clicks which raises POI by 1/4 inch at 100 yards (assuming 1 click dialed)  and then double that at 200 yards and so on as range increases.

There is more to it but thats the basics.

Easiest way to get a 100 yard / metre zero is to mount the scope...a task in itself.....read up.