Hello - please validate my choice of first centrefire rifle!

clover

Afternoon all - I've just joined your excellent forum as I'm looking to dip my toe into the water and purchase my first "proper" centrefire rifle.

I have many years of experience target shooting with airguns, rimfire and centrefire gallery rifle and am now looking to have a crack at longer range stuff - I'm thinking initially 300-600yd initially but maybe further in future.

I've got a pretty good idea of what I want but am new to all this so am looking for a bit of validation please! Apologies for the long post but I want to make sure I've got everything "right" before taking the plunge.

I don't want to over-complicate things so have settled on .223 as the calibre due to its low recoil, flexibility and ammo cost / availabilty. I've read up on a lot of the more exotic 6mm & 6.5mm calibres, however I don't want to try and run before I can walk and for the time being won't have the facility to reload so need to be able to source decent off-the-shelf ammunition. 

I'm looking at a Tikka T3x Varmint - seemingly a pretty easy choice after a bit of research as the cheaper / American stuff looks a bit ropey quality-wise and I require a left-handed action which sadly rules out CZ, Sako and some of the other better quality European manufacturers. The guns seem popular with a good reputation and plenty of aftermarket goodies. I want the heavy barrel on the usual stiffness / accuracy grounds and prefer the front-baised balance (I currently have a .22lr Sako Finnfire Varmint).