I would like to consult the forum wisdom for selecting a riflescope for deer stalking. Any help, pointers or suggestions to avoid are all welcome as this is an area I have little knowledge in albeit a reasonable amount of rifle experience on plate and paper.

The rifle I am using is a Sako M75 Varmint in a laminated stock in .308 Win. Its been crewcut and bedded and a Picatinny rail installed to avoid the Optilock system. I know the rifle is a bit heavy for the hill but it shoots very well and its what I took my first red with 10+ years ago with it so I don't want to change and the rifle is like new and IMHO the M75 appears more solid than the 85 and I like the look of the stock thats on mine. The scope that was on it has been long gone (it was a leopold Euro 4-10x40 if I remember correctly.

Any suggestions on what I should scope it with? I am thinking about the S&B 8x56 potentially as I have had great experiences with the brand in both work and private use but I'm open to suggestions. I am mindful of not making the overall height to great so I can get a decent cheek weld on the stock. The budget is £5-600 but this can be flexible but don't want to get to daft as I don't use the rifle much. I prefer cm/mil rad and ideally turrets that I can dial in but that seems to up the cost a bit.

Hopefully I can get this set up over the summer and see if I can get some guided stalking in this year.

The questions are:

1. What reticule / or what to avoid.

2. Scope model suggestions, especially in light of the constraints of the rifle set up.

3. Is illuminated reticule worth the extra for stalking and a lot of people seem to use fixed mag scopes, not sure why as it seems potentially limiting but its not my area of expertise.

Thank you for your shared wisdom.

Morse

I use the Sako 85 (.243) with laminate stock and like you say, it is a touch heavy so for that rifle I have a Leupold 6x42 on it. Non illuminated and to be honest, never thought I needed it.