long range vermin

terrierman

Why can your .22-250 not fill that role?

If you're itching for a new rifle then look at something in the 6.5s for long range varminting.

I have no experience with the .17s and .204 but someone will come along to point out the benefits. I like the .22-250 and was shooting it out to 400yrds alongside my 300wsm. both easily hitting empty tomato cans but the gusting wind and my inability to read it accounted for a couple of misses with the smaller calibre. The difference was the 52gr AMax BC of .247 and 208gr Amax BC of 0.648.

Would say any of your suggested calibers are capable of very long range but that depends on what ranges your thinking.

222-50 is a pretty good long range caliber.

Why not put a good dialable scope on it?

A .223 with an 8 twist barrel is a very versatile vermin caliber.

You can do all sorts with it, run it with 75g-77gr bullets for long range to 600yds and it will still be accurate with 40gr bullets for closer stuff an then everything between. If you need a quieter lower power round you could even safely load it low to replicate the performance of a .22 Hornet if you really wanted to.

So many options...

No such thing as over kill,but if you feel the need a .20 cal will fit the bill nicely I run a 204 but a .20 vartarg would be a good choice

I agree with Pork Chop.

The phrase of 'Over Kill' always puzzles me. You want to kill it. So does it really matter what calibre you use, as long as it's safe, and you achieve a clean kill?

Even as suggested, a 6.5 will kill vermin way out there. And you just take head shots if you want the meat.

Yes the .204 is great for long range varminting, and although i wasn't keen on the rifle brand, i wish i'd bought a Tikka T3 in .204 instead.