New! WT1 50-3 Thermal Rifle Scope Any one using one?

goldie

A gamekeeper pal of mine is using one and really rates it as the best thing ever for shooting foxes.

I've been using the equivalent of the 75-6 for almost 2 years now and agree completely.

The 75mm lens coupled to a 17 micron sensor gives far greater detection range than anything that Pulsar currently sell or have exhibited at the recent shot show.

Buy a 75-3 and you'll have the best thermal scope available for sensible money for a good while yet

Cheers

Bruce

How do the AX75 and 75-3 compare in use, Bruce? I know on paper/spec they aren't necessarily that comparable but wondered what you think in actual use?

Not a loaded question in anyway - I have a 75-3, I put a grand total of 1 round of 308 through a Blaser fitted with an AX75 last week so didn't really have the chance to mess about with it - I did like the PiP feature though.

Ta,

Rich

I haven't used an Apex 75, but the folk that have them seem to like them.

However, the Apex XD75 uses a 25 micron core which reduces it's detection range compared to the 17 micron core in the WT75-3

Also, the Apex uses an f1.4 objective lens compared to the f 1.0 lens in the WT

The minimum temperature change that can be detected by a thermal depends on the basic sensitivity of the core multiplied by the f number of the objective lens.

Since the core in the pulsar and the core in the WT both claim the same basic temperature sensitivity (around 50mK) the overall sensitivity of the WT is better than the Pulsar.

Cheers

Bruce

I just looked up the Apex 75 and found this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mvwcRhp4oN4

The PiP does look useful.

While it is a clip compilation and so you don't see how long the shooter may have observed the things he does seem to sometimes be shooting at hot things assuming they are rabbits, any pretence to shot placement must be just that.