87g vmax powder choice????

Could anyone recommend a good powder to go behind an 87g vmax bullet? I'm new to reloading and any help would be very much appreciated. I'm using a tikka t3x super varmint .243 and I'm wondering if a slower or faster burning powder would be better due to the shorter 20 inch barrel on the tikka. Cheers

Viht N 140 is an excellent 243-308 powder,for all but the heavier bullets (where the N150 applies better).

It's an excellent powder,European and readily available,consistent,not expensive.Vihtavuori have a reasonable on-line reloading guide too. I'm sure other members will endorse it also.

If Carlsberg bought powder,it would probably be Vihtavuori ! :-)

gbal

Hi hope this helps. I did a ladder test the other day with n160. I started at 41g and worked up to 45g. The best was 42.6, so then I tried 20 tho off and 40 tho off. I then did another ladder test from 45g up to 46g max and was happy also with 45.3g .I was using 87 vmax. This was with a sako 75 sporter

30u4yoo.jpg

• 2 weeks later...

N160, or 4350 will give you better velocity than n140 with that bullet weight and better case fill to.

N140 is a faster powder so given the same load I would be very surprised if N160 produced more velocity than N140. Certainly in one of mine N150 is about 5% faster than N160 given the same powder load.

Extreme Spreads ( ES) should be lower with N160 due to the full case which is my book is desirable.

A

N140 is a faster powder so given the same load I would be very surprised if N160 produced more velocity than N140. Certainly in one of mine N150 is about 5% faster than N160 given the same powder load.

Extreme Spreads ( ES) should be lower with N160 due to the full case which is my book is desirable.

A